Why I Drink Only Water…..Mostly

20170325_191155-01.jpeg

Years ago I only drank soda, or pop as I would call it.  I hated water and could not bring myself to drink it at all.  Boy have things changed!

Several years ago I was diagnosed with acid reflux.  After doing some research I found that one of the triggers for acid reflux is caffeine, so I decided to cut caffeine out of my diet.  I first started by drinking clear drinks like Sprite and 7 Up.  But eventually I started working in water with lemon to cut down on my sugar intake too.  Now water is basically all that I drink, with or without lemon.  I will have the occasional Sprite or 7 Up, but I try to limit those to once a week or less.

If I am weak and do drink more than one pop in a week, I can tell a big difference. Although it tastes so good at the time, it makes me feel bad.  My stomach will become bloated and I feel sluggish, but the more sugar I drink the more I want.  As a result, I have learned that when there are times I have to eat fast food, I can replace the fountain soft drink with a bottled water.

Water is so much better for me and I am glad that for the most part that is all that I drink. Drinking water helps my body stay hydrated and help flush out toxins in my body.  I also know that drinking water is great for my skin.

Some of my friends can’t understand how I only drink water all the time, especially for breakfast.  But it is like anything else, it is all in what you get used to.

How much water do you drink?

2 thoughts on “Why I Drink Only Water…..Mostly

  1. Mama2 says:

    I normally drink a gallon a day. I have always loved water. But I can’t drink it with certain foods such as the occasional pizza or I will puke! 🍺Beer is certainly better for you than soda, which I hate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

