Revlon ColorStay Gel: 2 Steps to Total Gel Envy

20170313_194813-01-01.jpeg

I love the look of a gel manicure.  However, I don’t like what it does to my nails.  Anytime I have had a gel manicure it has ruined my nails by making them dry, brittle, and thin.  It can also get expensive to keep up at a salon with the cost ranging anywhere from $20 to $40.

I have been on the lookout for a good drugstore option that doesn’t require a UV or LED light but claims to give the same salon look.  I ran across this Revlon ColorStay Gel Polish set in Walmart and decided to give it a try.  The cost was very affordable at only $8.73.  I applied two coats of the color plus base and one coat of the diamond top coat.  Both the color and top coat dried really fast.  This is a big plus for me because I do not have the patience to wait for polish to dry.  I got the color Royal Flush and this is what it looked like when first applied:

20170305_141046-01.jpeg

This what it looks like after a week:

20170311_215404-01.jpeg

Although it did get dull towards the end and started wearing on the edges, I am really impressed with this polish!  As you can see it wore off my middle finger the worst.  But in its defense, my nail is peeling so technically the polish was staying on the nail.

One suggestion after taking it off would be to use another base coat.  The instructions say you don’t have to because it is built it, but I noticed it had already started discoloring my nail.

I had to work at it, but I was able to remove the polish with regular polish remover.

I will definitely be purchasing more colors!  I also think if I had applied another coat of the top coat mid-week it would have done even better.

 

Leave a Reply

