Fitness Tracker or is it just another bracelet?

20170303_085050-01.jpeg

Fitness trackers are very popular.  Many people wear them and they are a great way to keep up with your daily activity.  My employer offers health programs often that you can participate in for an incentive.  My fitness tracker is a great way for me to log my activity to meet the requirements for some extra cash in my pocket.

I love bracelets and apparently it shows because I received four for Christmas this year, all from different people.  There was something about wearing my beautiful bracelets and then putting on my fitness tracker with the thick rubber arm band.  It just didn’t look right.  I started not wanting to wear my tracker, which makes it hard to log my activity for some extra cash.

I had a meeting with a girl about a month or so ago and noticed a bracelet she was wearing.  It was silver, but it looked like it had a small screen.  I asked her about it and turns out it was a fitness tracker in disguise!  It was the Fitbit Alta and she had purchased a fashion band to use instead of the standard rubber arm band.

I did some research and decided to purchase one as a small present to myself.  I received it this week and have been very happy with it.  It does everything my previous tracker did and more.  It tracks inactivity, steps, calories burned, active minutes, distance traveled, and sleep.  But it also links to my phone so that, when my phone is near, I can receive text messages and see who is calling.  I find this feature helpful if I am in meetings and can’t look at my phone.

The best part is, it doesn’t look like the typical fitness band!

20170301_134735-01.jpeg

Props to anyone that noticed the paw sticking out underneath my hand 🙂 

I purchased my Fitbit Alta from Best Buy for $129.95.  This was the average price about anywhere I looked online (and believe me I looked a lot of places), plus Best Buy was offering free two day shipping.  The gold bangle band I got from Amazon for $32.90.

I can also say it seems to be very accurate.  Last night I went to a thirty minute step class before going to Zumba class that lasts an hour.  My active minutes yesterday was tracked at 92 minutes.  You can’t get much more accurate than that!

 

2 thoughts on “Fitness Tracker or is it just another bracelet?

Leave a Reply

