Visit to Virginia Tech

20170121_112140-01.jpeg

This past weekend I had the opportunity to visit Virginia Tech.  My cousin, Emily, was in a honor band program there and I got to tag along.  High school students from different states were chosen to have the opportunity to audition to play in one of their four honor bands.

20170121_123224-01.jpeg

On Saturday Emily had rehearsal from 9 to 5, which gave me the whole day to do some sight seeing.  I took complete advantage of this and ended the day with 18,657 steps!

My favorite part of all was the buildings.  They use a limestone referred to as “hokie” stone.  It was as if I had traveled to London, England rather than Blacksburg, VA.  The atmosphere was historic and castle like.  I loved it!

20170121_095558-01.jpeg

20170121_1016430-01.jpeg

Several people told me I should visit the duck pond on campus.  To get there I had to walk completely across campus, but it was worth it!  I have never seen so many ducks.  They were definitely not scared to being around people.  You can tell from the first picture I didn’t even have to zoom in, I just walked right up to them!

20170121_135714-01.jpeg

20170121_140305-01.jpeg

During my walk on campus I noticed the squirrels too.  Like the ducks, they didn’t seem to mind people either.  I caught a shot of this one getting ready to climb a tree.

20170121_100419-01.jpeg

Sunday was concert day.  It was held in the Moss Arts Center.  The theater was amazing!  I had never been in such a state of the art facility.  I got to set in the balcony and the view was awesome.  All the students did great and the concert was a real success!

20170120_202321-01.jpeg

emilyconcert

Since I was out of town all weekend, I did not have time to get any blog posts together. However, I have a guest blogger lined up this week to help me out.  Hope you enjoyed a little glimpse into our weekend.  We both had a blast!

One thought on “Visit to Virginia Tech

Leave a Reply

