Is the Rimmel ScandalEyes Retro Glam Mascara a Dupe for the Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara?

20170117_203513-01.jpeg

I have been wanting to try the Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara for a long time.  Every time I went into Ulta or Sephora I would look at it but talk myself out of buying.  As you may have noticed from this blog, I like to find good quality products that are more affordable and easier on the budget.  I think part of me was afraid I would like the mascara too much and then be torn on whether to pay the high price.

The last time I was in Sephora I noticed they had sample sizes of the Better Than Sex mascara.  I don’t know why I didn’t look for this before!  I bought the sample size for $12 to try.  Although still more expensive than drugstore options, I felt a little more justified paying half the price to give it a try.

And then it happened, I fell in love with this mascara.  I knew it would happen if I tried it. From blogs to YouTube tutorials, it is always raved about.  So my next step was to search Pinterest for a dupe that would be better for my wallet. The dupe I found, Rimmel ScandalEyes Retro Glam mascara.

First the price, I purchased the Rimmel ScandelEyes Retro Glam in extreme black.  The retail price was $5.29 for .41 oz.  Although I purchased the sample size, I am going to compare it to the full size tube of Better Than Sex which is $23 for .27 oz.  As you can see, you get more product for a lot less with the Rimmel.

20170117_203644-01.jpeg

The application brushes look very similar, but will they apply the same?  Here are how the two compare when it comes to application.

20170116_131147-01.jpeg

In this picture, I have applied the Better than Sex to one eye and the other has the Rimmel ScandalEyes.  I won’t give away the answer so you can guess in the comments.  I asked 15 people if they could tell which eye had the more expensive mascara.  So here are the stats:

  • 74% got it right
  • 13% picked the drugstore eye as the expensive brand
  • 13% couldn’t tell a difference

I will be honest, I can tell a difference in the two.  For me the Too Faced Better than Sex makes the lashes fuller, especially at the base of the lashes.  I believe the difference is in the formula of the mascara itself and not the applicator brush.  I can tell that the Better Than Sex formula is thicker and sticks to the lashes better, allowing you to build the product more without the lashes clumping together.  Now is it worth the extreme price difference, I am honestly undecided on this one. For me the Rimmel will be easier to get since I don’t have an Ulta or Sephora close by and it will be much easier on my budget.  The Rimmel does do a good job at volume and length.  But I may have to splurge for the Too Faced here and there.

 

5 thoughts on “Is the Rimmel ScandalEyes Retro Glam Mascara a Dupe for the Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara?

  1. Pingback: Mini Sephora Haul!

Leave a Reply

