Essence Pure Nude Make-Up Foundation

After trying a couple of Essence products and loving them, I wanted to try more products from this brand.  I had read not too long ago to contact companies about collaborating and not to wait for them to reach out to you.  So that is exactly what I did.  I contacted Essence to let them know about their products I was loving. You can click here to read my posts about their Make Me Brow and gel eyeliner.  I also sent them a link to my blog and asked them if they would like to collaborate.  To my surprise they emailed me back and said they loved my blog and would be sending me a bag of goodies to try!

20170115_211513-01.jpeg

First up is their pure Nude make-up foundation.  Thankfully they sent me the shade, pure beige, which is their lightest shade.  Even though it is their lightest, it is still just a bit dark for me.  But not so much that I can’t make it work.  One con with this foundation would be there are only three shades to choose from.  The shades are pure beige, pure sand, and pure honey.

essencefoundationcollage

The picture on the left is my face with only moisturizer and on the right is after I have applied the pure Nude make-up foundation.  This foundation is a light coverage.  Essence has marketed it as a natural look with a no makeup feel and that is just what it is.  Personally I prefer lightweight foundations with a natural look.  Even with the light coverage, it does a good job at evening out my skin.  However, it doesn’t cover imperfections from breakouts very well.

I tried applying it with a brush and a beauty blender, but got the best results from using my fingers.  I use two pumps and it covers my face well.  One of the first things I noticed about this foundation was the smell.  It isn’t a horrible smell, but it is a different smell.  It goes away fast and I haven’t noticed it any throughout the day.

20170115_122305-01.jpeg

This is the finished look after setting the foundation with powder and finishing the rest of my makeup.  I had a very natural look this day since I was going to visit my niece and nephew.  They really aren’t impressed with wing liner and a bold lip. 🙂

I have been really satisfied with this foundation.  It goes on good and lasts well throughout the day.  This picture below was taken after having it on for 9 hours without any touch ups.  You can tell from the flat hair and no lipstick, but the foundation still looks good!

20170115_201651-01.jpeg

Here are some pros and cons:

Cons

  • Only available in three shades
  • Different smell when first applying, but goes away quickly
  • Must order online

Pros

  • Lightweight with natural feel
  • Evens out skin well
  • Wears well throughout the day
  • Very affordable

Overall I think this is a good foundation.  If you like lightweight foundations, I would definitely give it a try.  It is also very affordable at a regular price of only $4.99.  Right now I noticed the Essence website has it on sale for $2.49!  This is not available on Ulta’s website and I don’t remember seeing it in the store.  So unless you ordered enough for free shipping, you would also have to pay shipping of $5.95.  The good thing is you can get free shipping by only spending $15!  You could get a lot of Essence products for this!  Either way it is still a really affordable foundation.

 

I was sent this product for free by Essence.  However, I did not receive any type of monetary payment for this review.  All my opinions above are of my own and are my honest thoughts on this product.  

One thought on “Essence Pure Nude Make-Up Foundation

Leave a Reply

