The Perfect Pair: Essence Gel Eyeliner & Real Techniques Silicone Liner Brush

20161228_123730-01.jpeg

After trying the Mary Kay gel eyeliner during my facial in November, click here to check it out, I wanted to see if I could find a more affordable option.  I had never tried gel eyeliner until then and really liked the texture and how well it applied.  I find gel eyeliner to be a little more forgiving than liquid eyeliner that can leave harsh lines.  The gel can be smudged out to camouflage any mistakes and does not show small imperfections as bad.

On Black Friday I purchased the Essence gel eyeliner from Ulta for $3.99.  Believe it or not this is regular price!  I have been using it since then and believe it to be a great substitute for the Mary Kay gel.  With the brush applicator, the Mary Kay gel eyeliner retails for $18.

essencegeleyelinercollage

The only thing I have not found a great dupe for is the brush applicator that comes with the Mary Kay liner.  Unfortunately, you cannot buy the Mary Kay brush separately.  A few weeks ago I came across the Real Techniques Silicone Liner Brush at Ulta.  Although not at all like the Mary Kay, of all the other brushes I have tried this one does the best job.

20161228_123747-01.jpeg

As you can see the silicone is shaped into a point which allows you to be more precise with the application.  The silicone is flexible enough to move along the shape of your eyelid, but not too flexible.  Also, this brush is very easy to clean.  You can simply wipe it off with a makeup removal wipe to remove any buildup.   This brush retails for $6.  I purchased mine at Ulta while they were have a BOGO 50% off sale.

Although I really do love the forgiveness of the gel eyeliner, I still use liquid eyeliner too.  Since the gel eyeliner is so forgiving, it also is not as dark as liquid liner can be.  I find the gel to be more of a faded black.  So I have not forgotten about my first true love when it comes to liquid eyeliner, the e.l.f. liquid eyeliner.  You can read about my love for this liner here.  When I want a really bold eyeliner this is still my go to product.  But for everyday, I find myself reaching for the Essence gel eyeliner more these days.

What type of eyeliner do you prefer?  Have you tried gel eyeliner?  If so, what are your thoughts?

5 thoughts on “The Perfect Pair: Essence Gel Eyeliner & Real Techniques Silicone Liner Brush

Leave a Reply

