My First Facial Oil: Argan Oil

picture_20161113_183016461.jpg

Lately I have been using an argan oil in my weekly routine.  I got a sample of the Josie Maran 100 percent Argan Oil Light about a month ago.  I think it came in one of my Allure beauty boxes that I failed to do a post on.  I have since canceled this subscription box for now and I am sticking with the Sephora Play!.  I felt like getting two subscriptions was too much right now and the Allure was actually the more expensive of the two.  You can click here to check out some of the products I have received so far.

But back to the argan oil.  Since this was a small sample, I have been using this to moisturize my face on the nights I use my African Black Soap Clarifying Mud Mask.  I love this mud mask and it has helped tremendously with my chin breakouts.  But while it is getting all of those impurities out of my pores it is also taking some moisture with it.

I have always been apprehensive to use pure oil on my face because I felt like it would cause breakouts and clog my pores.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  After using this for about a month I can honestly say it has left my face feeling more moisturized, smooth, and I do believe it has even helped even out my skin tone.  I feel like my skin looks so much better on those “no makeup days”.  And this is only using it a few days a week!

Sadly, I only have about a half or a little less of my sample left.  When I first started using it I was using way too much and have ran through it quicker than I should  have.  I started out using about 8 to 10 drops, when I can actually only needed 4 or 5.  I would like to incorporate it into my nightly routine by adding a drop or two to my moisturizer.

Now for the bad part, the price.  A 0.5oz size bottle of the Josie Maran retails for $16.00 on Sephora’s website.  Whew, that is expensive!  Buying a 4oz bottle is a better buy compared to the 0.5oz, but it is also $96.00!  I just don’t know that I could ever bring myself to give that much money for a facial oil.  Even though I know it would probably last a long time, that is a lot of money.

I have been searching for alternatives online and unfortunately argan oil seems to be expensive in general.  However, I did find a couple of more affordable options.

  1. I found the Shea Moisture 100% Pure Argan Oil on GNC’s website.  The cost is $8.49 for a 1.6oz.  This is the same brand as my mud mask that I love so much!  But I checked my local GNC and they do not carry this in the store…bummer.
  2. The Morgan Cosmetics Organic Argan Oil is sold through Walmart online.  This retails for $11.39 for 2oz.
  3. I also found the Silk Elements Pure Oils Argan Oil (100% pure) at my local Sally’s Beauty Supply store.  The price was a little higher than the Shea Moisture I found on GNC’s website for a slightly smaller bottle at 1oz, but there would be no shipping costs.    The Silk Elements retails for $9.99 regular price.  If you are a member of their beauty club the price is $9.49.  For just a dollar more, I think I will try the Silk Elements first before ordering anything online.

One thing I am not sure about yet with these affordable options are the fact they are not “light”.  The Josie Maran I have been using is the “light” version.  This brand also sells a regular 100% pure argan oil.  I am hoping that the difference isn’t how it soaks into the skin or that it feels heavy, but will be how much I have to use so that the regular argan oil will last longer.  Maybe with the light version this is why I felt like I needed to use so much more.

Argan oil is also good for your hair and cuticles.  It is a multipurpose product!

Do you use argan oil in your daily routine?  If so, what brand do you use?

19 thoughts on “My First Facial Oil: Argan Oil

  1. Healthy_Glow says:

    I like the Josie Moran one as well. I wouldn’t buy an alternative one if you already like the Josie Moran oil. Most of the time, they will not work as well and you will end up having to buy the original one after buying the alternatives anyways. The bottle lasts a long time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nataliecharmaine says:

    Love this! I’ve only just started using Face oils and I honestly don’t know how I went with out it. It hydrates my skin almost instantly. Now I use it before I apply my makeup so that it applies more evenly and i no longer have to worry about dry skin! It’s great! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dana Diaries says:

    I’ve never tried argan oil, but I may have to now. I’ve been using this all-natural pumpkin oil recently and I love how it makes my skin feel and I also like how it makes my face look when I mix it with my liquid foundation. It kind of gives a nice dewey glow! It’s been a savior for my dry skin, so I’m open to trying other oils now!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lifeloveluminous says:

    Face oils are the best! Some oils are comedogenic and might clog your pores, but argan oil is pretty safe. I can highly recommend the one by Ooh!-Oils of Heaven. It’s super light and budget-friendly 🙂 You should also try jojoba oil during the winter months, as it can be even more hydrating than argan oil, and almond oil as a makeup-remover (even works with waterproof mascara). Try using the oils in your hair and on your hands and body too (tiny amount), it’s amazing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

