Play! by Sephora: October

20161022_112315-01.jpeg

This month’s box is “The Cool Cut”.  These are products that aren’t mainstream yet, but have been chosen as “ones to watch”.

smashboxcollage

First up is the Smashbox Always on Matte Liquid Lipstick in the shade Driver’s Seat.  If you have learned anything about me yet, it is that I have a weakness when it comes to lip products.  But I think most of us do.  As soon as I opened the box I had to apply this and see what it looked and felt like.  I think the color is great for fall.  The formula isn’t too drying and is comfortable.

nudestixcollage

A second lip product in the same box, this is my month!  Next is the Nudestix Intense Matte Lip + Cheek Pencil in the shade Belle.  I have wore this on my lips the past two days and love it!  It is the perfect nude shade.  I have always been a fan of lip pencils.  Almay used to make one years ago that I literally wore everyday.  This will be a regular in my makeup bag for sure.  The insert says it is supposed to last six hours.  If you don’t eat in those six hours, I would agree.  Otherwise, I would go with more like four or five.  I doubt I will use this for a cheek color, but I do think it would be a pretty shade to add a little color.

20161022_105645-01.jpeg

Too Cool for School Egg Mellow Cream is a 5-in-1 cream from South Korea.  It can work as a serum, priming moisturizer, eye cream, neck cream, and sleeping mask.  As the name may suggestion, this product contains egg extracts.  It also contains collagen fiber.  As a result, this product claims to tighten the appearance of pores, keep skin looking healthy and firm, and encourage the production of collagen.  I pumped some out on my finger and it was yellow in color and had a slightly sticky consistency.  I am not sure about this one.  I know eggs are supposed to be great for your skin, but to be honest I just can’t fight off the thought of raw eggs in a bottle.

20161022_111937-01.jpeg

For those with sensitive skin, the next product is a non-abrasive peel that is also fragrance free.  The Skin Inc. Pure Revival Peel is a gentle peel that removes dead skin cells and is gentle enough to use two or three times a week.  The active ingredient is called AC-11, which is found from cat’s claw that grows in the Amazon.  When this ingredient is applied to the skin it helps to gently exfoliate and care for damaged skin from the environment.  I am excited to give this product a try!  I have never used a peel before, but prefer the sound of this to the harsh exfoliate creams I have used in the past.  Skin Inc. is a Japanese brand.

20161022_105601-01.jpeg

The Verb Leave-In Mist will moisturize, detangle, and smooth your hair.  I am lucky in that my hair seems to be fairly healthy.  But anything to make my hair shiny is more than welcomed.  This product is also supposed to protect from heat styling, which I need.  Currently I don’t use anything and use a straightening iron at least five to six days a week.  The directions are to apply it to towel dried hair before styling.  It is getting that time of year were I get a lot of static in my hair, especially in the wintertime. Hopefully, this will help head off any static cling before I even start blow drying.

20161022_105822-01.jpeg

The scent this month is the Tom Ford Orchid Soleil.  As the name suggests, it has a very floral scent.  It is also very strong!  I used two sprays to test it out and it was almost too much.  Not sure this is the scent for me, but I think my mom might like it.

20161022_105906-02.jpeg

Last but not least is the bag.  This month’s slogan, “Lipstick and Chill”.  Absolutely love it!

 

*The information provided in this post is a combination of my thoughts and the informational pamphlet included with the products.

 

13 thoughts on “Play! by Sephora: October

  1. onanothercoast says:

    Happy to have found your blog on community pool! I love how informative your blog is! And I always love reading reviews and opinions on makeup and beauty products! Looking forward to reading more and checking out that VERB hair mist! I seriously need a new detangling spray!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

