Birthday Goodies!!

wp-1476482619780.jpg

My 36th birthday is this weekend….I can’t believe it!  I sure don’t feel 36 and often forget how old I am!

So I did some birthday shopping yesterday….

Let’s start with Ulta since this was my first stop:

I needed to get a new eye cream.  I haven’t been using any for the past few months since I ran out of my Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye samples (at 36 this is something I definitely don’t need to be skipping).  I really liked this product a lot, however, I couldn’t justify the price at $58.00 for 0.5 oz. (read about my dilemma here)  I had looked at a few options last night online but hadn’t really made up my mind.  I asked the girl at Ulta her suggestions for a drugstore and high end option.  Of course she didn’t have a drugstore option, but spoke highly of the Benefit It’s Potent Eye Cream.  She said the 0.5 oz jar should last about 5 to 6 months since it took very little.  She advised that I try the product for 45 days to see if I like it.  I have 60 days to return it if I feel it isn’t doing the job.  The retail price was $34.00.  However, I found a set with the same size jar of eye cream, a 0.3 oz bottle of the Triple Performing Facial Emulsion, and a $10 off brow bar card for only two dollars more at $36.00!  Compared to the drugstore prices I saw online last night, this product is anywhere from $18 – $14 more.  If I don’t think this is worth the price, I can always return it for a drugstore option.

After we got done finding an eye cream, we started discussing brows.  I told her how I had recently started using a clear brow gel to keep them in place.  She told me that she used the Benefit Gimme Brow Fiber Gel.  I have to admit she talked me into this and I purchased it on a whim.  I had no intentions of getting another brow gel, but she is good at her job.  I thought at $24 is was pricey, but fell for it anyways.  I haven’t opened it yet and can always return it if I start having buyers remorse.

Last but not least I got the last two cans of the Not Your Mother’s Double Take Dry Finish Texture Spray (click here to read about my love for this product).  I pick up at least two cans of this stuff every time I make a trip to Ulta.

I couldn’t pick up my birthday gift just yet since Ulta doesn’t send out the email until your actual birthday.  I believe this month it is an Urban Decay eye shadow, but I can’t remember the exact shade.  This does give me an excuse to make another trip, however, since I spent quite a bit on this trip I think I will be getting my freebie and getting outta there.

Now off to the mall and Sephora:

I actually came out of Sephora without spending a penny!  I got two samples to try out.  The first was the Smashbox 24 Hour Photo Finish Shadow Primer.  I have been just using concealer as my eye shadow base lately and have noticed that my shadow seems to move and crease throughout the day.  The other sample I got was the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in the color Pearl.  I am excited to give these two products a try.  If either one of these end up being something I can’t live without it may go on my Christmas list.

I also picked up my birthday gift which was a mini Marc Jacobs eyeliner and lipstick.  The eyeliner says it is a gel and in the color black.  The lipstick is in the color Kiss Kiss Bang Bang.

I also got a little makeup bag with several goodies inside.  I love the design on the bag and the contents were a good mix of sample items which included the Josie Maran Argan Oil Light, Make Up Forever Excessive Lash Mascara, Benefit Dew the Hoola liquid bronzer, Boscia B.B. Cream (self adjusting shade), First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream, Sephora Gel Gloss in Pin-up Pink, Kat Von D lock-it foundation in light, and Flora by Gucci perfume.

Next stop Bath & Body Works:

Here I refrained and only got my free hand sanitizer.  I have spent way too much money at this store lately so I went in with my head down, picked up a sanitizer, and got outta there.

These stores are so smart by sending coupons for your birthday to make you spend money, and if the coupon is good enough I normally take the bait.  My next stop was Victoria Secret to use my $10 coupon.

Here I got a new sports bra and a sports tank.  The sports bra was $25 and the tank was free with the purchase of a sports bra.  After my coupon, I paid $16 for both.  I thought this was a pretty good deal.  I love their sports bras.  I have three and going to Zumba two to three nights a week, I go through them quickly.

The cashier also threw in a sample perfume for free.  It is in the scent Bombshell.  It has a very light sweet smell.

My last purchase was a first for me.  I have never in my life purchased or used anything from MAC.

I called a friend of mine who is amazing at makeup.  I asked her what would be the one MAC product she could not live without.  I hear a lot about their lipsticks but  I sort of knew what her answer would be before I asked.  I have heard her rave about MAC brushes, I just wasn’t sure which would be her holy grail.  Her top suggestion, the MAC 217 blending brush.  She said if she could only take one eye brush with her it would be this one.  I have never, ever given so much for a brush!  My current eye brushes are a collection of Real Techniques, e.l.f., and one L.A. Colors.  My heart skipped a little beat with she told me the total with tax.  The brush retails for $22…ouch!

I normally don’t do this much damage in one day, but since it is my birthday I thought I would splurge.  Ulta and MAC were the toughest on my wallet and I hope the products don’t disappoint.

After a day of shopping, it was time to eat.  I  I finished off the day with dinner at a Greek restaurant with my hubby.  I tried a dessert I have seen on Food Network, but never gotten to actually try….Baklava.  Although I am pretty sure I have had my sugar intake for two months, it was so worth it!  Delicious!

wp-1476482623984.jpg

 

 

7 thoughts on “Birthday Goodies!!

Leave a Reply

