Drugstore Fails: Eyeliner Edition

I am a huge eyeliner fan!  The only time I normally go without eyeliner is on my no makeup days.  I feel like eyeliner helps my eyes pop and for me doing eye makeup is the best part!
However, all eyeliners are definitely not created equal.  Here are a couple that did not live up to what I had hoped for.

Maybelline Master Precise Skinny Gel Pencil ($6.94 Walmart) 


This pencil was such a disappointment.  I bought this when I was still trying to learn how to do a wing liner.  I thought being a gel pencil it would be easier to control than the liquid liner.  Also it is supposed to be a waterproof formula, so I thought that would be perfect to tightline my upper lid.  Boy was I wrong!
As far as applying this to the top of the lid, it went on smooth and had great color, however, it did not help with my wing as I had thought.  After applied the formula would smug terrible.  By the time I would get home in the afternoon I felt like I had raccoon eyes.  In the swatch picture below you can see how it smudged after I just lightly took my finger across it. The tightlining turned out to be terrible too.  I would tightline and within seconds it had transferred to my waterline.  I tried to give this eyeliner a several chances, but then finally gave up.  Once I got my e.l.f. liquid liner I never looked back!

Hard Candy Take Me Out Liner ($4.00 Walmart)

wp-1474495939459.jpg

I purchased this pencil to use on my waterline in the shade “get iced”.  I did not realize it was a glitter eyeliner until afterwards, but it didn’t really matter.  The pigmentation of this liner on my waterline was basically nonexistent.  The pencil feels harsh and irritating on the eye.  You have to press hard to even get a glimpse of the color on your waterline.  By then my eyes are watering so bad what little bit of color is there comes right off.  The swatch on the skin looks great, I just wished it transferred like that on my waterline.

 

 

For me I will stick with my e.l.f. liquid liner for any wing shenanigans!  As far as tightlining goes, I just skip it for now.  Lately I have been rocking a dark waterline with what is left of my Urban Decay 24/7 glide-on pencil in “Corrupt”.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Drugstore Fails: Eyeliner Edition

Leave a Reply

