My Makeup Story

Three years ago I didn’t have a clue about contouring or even how to apply eye shadow to build depth.  I only knew the basics; foundation, powder, blush, one color of eye shadow all over, eye liner pencil, and mascara.  I even hardly ever wore lipstick!  I didn’t seriously get into the world of makeup until I was in a friend’s wedding and decided to do my own.  I knew I needed to learn some tricks so it all began with one search on YouTube….makeup tutorials.

Let’s go wayyy back to the late 90’s when I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing by Aerosmith was always on the radio and everyone was still watching E.R.  I was an upperclassman in high school. Boy have times changed!  Of course my friends and I were into makeup then, but it just wasn’t the same.  For us there was no Ulta or Sephora, only Walmart and the drugstore.  We didn’t use beauty blenders but applied our foundation with one of those sponge wedges.  No one that I knew filled in their brows or dropped 50 bucks of their birthday money on the latest eye shadow palette or foundation.  I am giving away my age here, but it was just a different time.  My cousin is now 14 and a freshman in high school.  She can do her makeup better than I ever could in high school!

Just for a comparison, here is my high school senior portrait compared to my blog picture.  Not only do I look like I have no makeup on, check out that hair!  And why didn’t someone tell me about eyebrow waxing!  PicMonkey Collage.png

I didn’t buy my first high end makeup until I was in college.  My boyfriend (future hubby) and I were at the mall and I stopped by the Clinique counter.  Before I knew it I had bought literally everything….from mascara to foundation!!  I spent a little over a hundred dollars on my makeup haul that day and it was the most I had ever dropped at one time!  After that I stuck with Clinique foundation for awhile but went back to drugstore for everything else.  I guess this was actually my first big step into the makeup world.  I then started wearing different high end foundations that you could get departments store like Belk.  I found that even though it was more expensive, it was better for me to have someone match my color because otherwise I spent almost as much at the drugstore trying to find the right shade.

Fast forwarding to today, I spend way more time doing my makeup now than I ever did growing up….and a lot better I might add.  I consider myself late to the party when it comes to the world of makeup. But I am glad I finally showed up!  I still wear high end foundations and have thrown in some other high end products here and there.  But I still like to find great drugstore products that are easier on the bank account.

Makeup is a great creative outlet and can boost confidence!  It is so fun to play around with different products and looks.  It is also something fun we can do together.  Just the other night a friend and I had a little spa night which included a sheet mask, binge watching some American Horror Story Murder House on Netflix, and something good to drink.  And every time my 14 year old cousin comes over she likes for us to do each others makeup.  I kid that makeup is addicting, and it really is, but in a good way.  Something that makes you feel better about yourself and allows you to interact with friends can’t be bad!

I hope you enjoyed my story.  I would love to read something about your story.  How old were you when the world of makeup got a hold of ya?  How did it start, through friends or like me with YouTube?

8 thoughts on “My Makeup Story

  1. nerdywordybirdy says:

    Our relationship with makeup is so interesting! I’ve always thought about doing a post like this, and now I think I will. I’ll link to you when I put it up since you finally gave me the push I needed to write it! Enjoyed reading this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Natalie says:

    I don’t wear makeup on a daily basis (#laziness) but I do wear it for costumes as well as when I compete in ballroom dancing — both of these really gave me an appreciation for how hard women work to get a flawless makeup application. Wow!

    Lovely story. Talking about Aerosmith makes me want to listen to them right now 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

