Allure Beauty Box – August 2016

I just received my first Allure Beauty Box!  I didn’t realize Allure Magazine had a beauty box until I ran across it in a blog post about the top beauty boxes.  So I thought I would give it a try!

Here is what I got this month…. (I have used everything once, except for the bonus shampoo and conditioner).

augustbeautybox

Freeze 24-7 Anti-Aging Eye Serum

At first I thought this was just a night eye serum, boy was I wrong!  This serum provides instant results tightening and smoothing the eye area for a few hours while moisturizing. When I first applied it I could feel the area getting tight.  By the time I put on my makeup and left the house I could really tell!  I didn’t apply much because honestly I was a little afraid.  But it did what it said and tightened the area for a few hours.  Crazy!  It also says that when used daily, this serum is supposed to reduce puffiness and soften lines.  Although it did seems to have the short term results on the first use, at a price of $115 a bottle, I just don’t think I could ever justify purchasing it!

Pur-Lisse Blue Lotus Balancing Moisturizer

This moisturizer is for normal, dry, or sensitive skin.  It has a gel consistency and light floral scent.   It went on well and was moisturizing.  The information provided from Allure said that this was a good moisturizer to use before makeup application because whisper-light formula.  It also contains antioxidants that can reduce free-radical damage to the skin from UV rays.  I really couldn’t tell much of a difference in my makeup compared to using my Clinique Dramatically Different Lotion.  But I will continue to use this in the mornings and see if I can tell anything with different foundations.  This morning I used my bareMinerals primer and powder foundation.  This product retails for $55.

Supergoop Defense Refresh Setting Mist SPF 30

I don’t have a setting spray and I like that this one is matte.  It is a three-in-one spray that sets makeup, controls oil, and delivers UV photoaging protection with SPF of 50.  It went on good and dried fast.  It did smell mostly like sunscreen, but it faded quickly.  It did feel somewhat drying, but not uncomfortable.  But if you have dry skin, this may not be for you.  As of now, I would consider buying this product.  It did a really good job of setting my makeup this morning and has lasted the day.  The cost is $28.

Pixi Glow Tonic

This is an alcohol-free toner that exfoliates and brightens skin.  It smells really good and feels really gentle on the skin, while still removing gunk and grim from your pores (I saw the proof on the cotton pad…ewwww).  It doesn’t sting or burn like other toners I have used in the past.  I think this will be a new addition to my nightly routine!  This can be found at Target at a cost of $15 for 3.4 ounces.

Cargo Swimmables Eye Pencil in Pebble Beach 

A water resistant eye pencil in a dark brown shade.  It is soft and glided on evenly, not pulling on my eyelid.  I thought this would be great for my water line given it is water resistant and so far today I haven’t noticed any fading or smudging.  This retails for $18.

Wet Brush Midi Brush

I actually already own a full size Wet Brush and love it!  I can brush through my hair wet without any pulling and tugging.  I love that this one is smaller and a perfect size for traveling!  The price is listed at $8.99.

Garnier Whole Blends Repairing Shampoo & Conditioner in Honey Treasurer

These must be some bonus products as they were not included in the pamphlet.  These are supposed to strengthen and heal damage hair.  They smell is great too!  I can’t wait to give it a try.  Plus, these will be drugstore prices since you can give this brand just about anywhere.

All in all I am pretty happy with my first box.  The only thing I found strange is a coupon that was on the back of the Pixie tonic packaging.  I got excited at first since I had decided this would be something I would like to add to my routine, until I realize the coupon had expired in 2015.  I don’t think Target will accept this anymore and it makes me wonder…. exactly how old is this sample bottle???

pixiecoupon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

